The Force of Spirit

The Force of Spirit

The Force of Spirit

Scott Russell Sanders

23,88 €
IVA incluido
Recíbelo en 3 días
Editorial:
Beacon Press
Año de edición:
2000
ISBN:
9780807062975
23,88 €
IVA incluido
Recíbelo en 3 días

Selecciona una librería:

'One of America's finest essayists. Sanders writes with a rare grace and sensitivity, befriending the reader by being so human himself.' -Phillip Lopate Scott Russell Sanders reveals how the pressure of the sacred breaks through the surfaces of ordinary life-a life devoted to grown-up children and aging parents, the craft of writing, and the natural world. Whether writing to his daughter and his son as each prepares to get married, or describing an encounter with a red-tailed hawk in whose form he glimpses his dead father, or praising the disciplines of writing and carpentry and teaching, Sanders registers, in finely tuned prose, the force of spirit. 'Sanders's voice is honest and witty and rich with the joy of storytelling; he confronts gently, but with determination, many of the dilemmas of our time and the enigmatic nature of our worlds. The Force of Spirit urges the reader to sit back, to enjoy the pleasure of reading, then to consider and reconsider carefully.' -Pattiann Rogers, author of Eating Bread and Honey 'In the tradition of Montaigne, Thoreau, Wendell Berry, and Annie Dillard, Sanders has established himself as one of the few masters of the personal essay.' -Tom Montgomery-Fate, The Boston Globe 'Sanders is the writer I turn to when I feel the need to slow down, pay attention, ponder the blessings of life and acknowledge them with due respect, apprehension, joy. His newest gathering of essays . . . only enhances my admiration for his values, vision, and eloquence.' -Jim Mustick, A Common Reader Scott Russell Sanders has won the Lannan Literary Award and the Great Lakes Book Award. His books include Hunting for Hope, The Paradise of Bombs, and Secrets of the Universe. He teaches at Indiana University, in Bloomington, where he lives with his wife.

Artículos relacionados

  • Bronte Transformations
    Patsy Stoneman
    This landmark book – entirely unobtainable for several years - is the single essential study of how the best-known Brontë novels – Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights - achieved their world-wide fame.It offers a fascinating account of how the novels have passed into the general culture through a wide variety of media – on the stage, in film and television, in books, illustrations, ...
    Recíbelo en 3 días

    71,20 €

  • THE FUTURE IS FEMALE
    Creative Collective
    We're all politically active (so Nasty), and have been stepping up to the front lines by marching for women's rights, fundraising for feminist causes, and staying #woke. That said, we often commiserate about the state of affairs in our world. Too much activism is never enough. So we put our heads, hearts, and talents together in an effort to raise more money for Planned...
    Consulta disponibilidad

    5,60 €

  • Israel... From Sinai to the Tabernacle - Easy Reader Edition
    Ahava Lilburn
    The Ancient Texts and the Bible series was compiled by Ahava Lilburn and produced by Minister 2 Others. This ten volume set synchronizes the manuscripts of Enoch, Jasher, and Jubilees into the Bible, making one complete storyline.  The books are interwoven using the Torah as the backbone, and the extra-biblical texts as the fleshing out of that backbone.The seventh book in this...
    Recíbelo en 3 días

    22,21 €

  • Israel... Through the Book of Leviticus - Easy Reader Edition
    Ahava Lilburn
    The Ancient Texts and the Bible series was compiled by Ahava Lilburn and produced by Minister 2 Others. This ten volume set synchronizes the manuscripts of Enoch, Jasher, and Jubilees into the Bible, making one complete storyline.  The books are interwoven using the Torah as the backbone, and the extra-biblical texts as the fleshing out of that backbone.The eighth book in this ...
    Recíbelo en 3 días

    17,30 €

  • Israel... Through the Book of Leviticus - Easy Reader Edition
    Ahava Lilburn
    The Ancient Texts and the Bible series was compiled by Ahava Lilburn and produced by Minister 2 Others. This ten volume set synchronizes the manuscripts of Enoch, Jasher, and Jubilees into the Bible, making one complete storyline.  The books are interwoven using the Torah as the backbone, and the extra-biblical texts as the fleshing out of that backbone.The eighth book in this ...
    Recíbelo en 3 días

    22,05 €

  • Narrative, Race, and Ethnicity in the United States
    James J. Donahue
    Narrative, Race, and Ethnicity in the United States, edited by James J. Donahue, Jennifer Ho, and Shaun Morgan, is the first book-length volume of essays devoted to studying the intersection of race/ethnicity and narrative theories. Each chapter offers a sustained engagement with narrative theory and critical race theory as applied to ethnic American literature, exploring the i...
    Recíbelo en 3 días

    188,48 €

Otros libros del autor

  • Small Marvels
    Scott Russell Sanders
    In Limestone, Indiana, a city tucked away among forested hills, peculiar things happen, often in the vicinity of a jack-of-all-trades named Gordon Mills. Centaurs and nymphs shelter in a local cave, alligators lurk in the sewers, warm snow falls on the Fourth of July, cornstalks rise higher than chimneys, and the northern lights shine down on the municipal dump.Gordon takes suc...
    Recíbelo en 3 días

    16,90 €

  • Dancing in Dreamtime
    Scott Russell Sanders
    Fans today may be surprised to learn Scott Russell Sanders was previously one of the brightest science-fiction newcomers of the 1980s. In Dancing in Dreamtime, he returns to his roots, exploring both inner and outer space in a speculative collection of short stories. At a time when humankind faces unprecedented, global-scale challenges from climate change, loss of biodiversity,...
    Consulta disponibilidad

    15,00 €

  • Earth Works
    Scott Russell Sanders
    ...
    Consulta disponibilidad

    23,12 €

  • A Conservationist Manifesto
    Scott Russell Sanders
    ...
    Consulta disponibilidad

    22,61 €

  • Bad Man Ballad
    Scott Russell Sanders
    ...
    Consulta disponibilidad

    13,70 €

  • Secrets of the Universe
    Scott Russell Sanders
    'Secrets of the Universe' ranges from an autobiographical tour-de-force that describes a childhood spent with an alcoholic father to 'Looking at Women,' a reflection on male yearning and confusion, to a look at the place-or absence-of nature in recent American fiction. ...
    Recíbelo en 3 días

    23,81 €